How Many It Movies Are There

How Many It Movies Are There

Have you ever wondered what the definitive answer to the age-old question of “how many IT movies are there” is? Well, you’re about to find out! Get ready to find out how many IT movies have made their way to the big screen and additional information to go along with it.

2. Overview of IT Movies and Related Media
IT, the horror movie franchise based off of the books by Stephen King, consists of two feature length films and various media related to the films. The films were released in 2017 and 2019, with both being highly successful in the box office.

The first movie IT (2017) is a horror movie based off of the novel by Stephen King and was directed by Andy Muschietti. It follows the story of a group of children who fight against the evil entity known as “IT” which is a shape-shifting monster. The second movie, IT Chapter Two (2019) is a sequel to the original movie, and follows the group of children as they battle the creature again as adults.

In addition to the two feature length films, other media related to the franchise has been released. This includes multiple video games, such as the IT movie video game released in 2017, as well as a prequel novel, IT: The Graphic Novel, released in 2018.

Unnumbered List

  • IT (2017)
  • IT Chapter Two (2019)
  • IT movie video game (2017)
  • IT: The Graphic Novel (2018)

The films, as well as the associated media, have been well-received by both critics and audiences alike. Both movies were nominated for and won numerous awards, including Teen Choice Awards, MTV Movie and TV Awards, and even an Academy Award for best visual effects for the second movie. The movies’ success have led to many fans of the franchise debating and discussing the franchises’ various plot points and themes on various online platforms, such as Reddit.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What is the total number of IT movies?
A: There are three IT movies in total. The first movie, IT, was released in 2017, followed by IT Chapter Two in 2019, and the third movie, IT: Chapter 3, is scheduled for release in 2021.

Q: What type of films are the IT movies?
A: All three movies are horror films based on Stephen King’s novel of the same name.

Q: Who stars in the IT movies?
A: The first movie, IT, stars Bill Skarsgård as the titular character Pennywise the Clown. In IT Chapter Two, an adult cast including James McAvoy, Jessica Chastain, and Bill Hader take on the roles of the Losers Club members. The third installment is set to include both the original cast and the adult actors.

Q: How successful were the IT movies at the box office?
A: Both the IT and IT Chapter Two were highly successful at the box office. IT grossed $327.5 million in the United States and Canada and $478.1 million in other territories, for a worldwide total of $811 million. IT Chapter Two grossed a total of $473.4 million worldwide.

In Conclusion

The success of the IT movies proves that the classic Stephen King novel can still introduce a new generation to the horror-filled supernatural world of Pennywise and the Loser’s Club. Whether you prefer the first two movies or the newly released films, it’s hard to deny the blockbuster success of this franchise. With the announcement of another IT movie release and the epic cliffhanger from the third film, it’s clear that this horror series isn’t done yet. So sit back and wait for more IT movies to come your way!
With the rise of technology and the prevalence of streaming services, it has become easier than ever to stay up-to-date with new and classic films. The “It” franchise has been highly successful, and as of 2020, there are a total of four feature-length movies.

Created by Stephen King in the late 1970s, “It” has become a cultural phenomenon. Following the small Maine town of Derry and the mysterious creature that spawns fear and horror in its wake, the story has captivated audiences for decades. The first feature-length adaptation of “It” premiered in 1990 and was followed by an American miniseries in 2002, both of which were adapted from King’s novel of the same name.

The latest installment of the franchise is the 2017 remake, IT Chapter One, which follows the same characters as children. This movie was met with critical acclaim and became a massive hit at the box office, making it the highest-grossing horror movie of all time. The film follows the same characters as adults 27 years later in IT Chapter Two, which was released in 2019.

The “It” franchise has also inspired numerous spin-offs, including a comic book series, television shows, and web media. However, there are only four feature-length films in the franchise so far. Each film stands as its own work and provides a unique perspective into the themes of horror and childhood innocence.

Overall, the “It” franchise has proved itself time and time again as a powerful force in the horror genre. As of 2020, there are four feature-length movies in the franchise, each offering their own unique insight into the mysterious world of Derry.